The Art of Fashion

Digital Orca

If you want to view a wonder of the eye head down to the Vancouver Convention Centre. The first time I saw it I thought my eye’s were playing a trick on me. For all I knew it could have been a hologram. The sculpture is by a fellow Vancouverite, novelist, and artist, Douglas Coupland.

When I walked by Roots on Robson one day and the items in the window were graphic, bright and funky. I immediately stopped and stared. It was the collaboration between them and Douglas Coupland. Hoodies and dresses in test patterns, leggings and scarves that mimic a motherboard and Douglas Coupland signature tanks which almost resembles one wrapped in an extension cord. So when I realized that there was a fashion equivalent to the Digital Orca I went in to scope it all out. Now it may not be my usual girlie style but I fell in love with this scarf (surprise, surprise right?)…

Roots X Douglas Coupland


Roots X Douglas Coupland

Follow me on Facebook

 

Leave a Reply

